Blog Roddus

Blog Roddus
My Favorite Place

Monday, March 12, 2012

The Gordons - Volume One (New Zealand c1981)

An Uncle Roddus Album Review
Classic Albums from my past.

1. Spik And Span (5:01)
2. Right On Time (8:52)
3. Coalminers Song (5:46)
4. Sometimes (4:01)
5. I Just Can't Stop (2:35)
6. Growing Up (9:37)
7. Laughing Now (4:10)
8. Future Shock (4:56)
9. Machine Song (3:27)
10.Adults And Children (2:14)

Welcome to the wonderful and frightening world of The Gordons. This is the first album from this awesome post punk, pre grunge Christchurch power trio. Apparently this album had a big influence on Sonic youth and Steve Albini, back in its day. A fucking' roller-coaster of bludgeoning guitar riffs and primitive grunge, although sounding a bit amateurish in places, this album still astounds me 30 years later. A bit too complex to be pure punk and sounding perhaps more like a primitive Tool, one of the best things to come out of my home town. This Particular release is the CD reissue with the last three tracks being from their debut 3 track EP"Future Shock". This album is still available on general release, so if you really dig guitar driven post punk, get it before it disappears again. Rating  5/5.

No comments: